The Stages of Meditation

The experience of meditation generally comes in several stages:

  1. Rasa: you feel that life is juicy, the atmosphere is juicy, you are juicy
  2. Delight
  3. You become polite
  4. You become humble
  5. You become elevated
  6. You become graceful and enlightened

Once you are enlightened, enlightenment has certain stages of its own:

  1. You are yourself
  2. You become silent like a lighthouse. Whenever you see, wherever you are, your presence has an effect
  3. You project—you are everywhere
  4. You become prayerful
  5. You become a preacher—you begin talking about God and give people “gunas” (merits) and “gyan” (knowledge)
  6. You become a master—you chisel the divinity and unity out of the divided self
  7. You become a Sage—you say nothing, you hear nothing

~Resource: this information was originally shared in the book Living Reality (1994) by Bibiji Inderjit Kaur Khalsa.