Developing the Neutral Mind

neutral mind

Excerpt from the book Enlightened Bodies: Exploring Physical & Subtle Human Anatomy, published by KRI

The Neutral Mind is the fourth of the Ten Light Bodies. It works with the Negative Mind and Positive Mind to observe life and guide the decision-making process. When a thought or idea comes into the Light Bodies, it is first processed through the Negative Mind, then the Positive Mind. Ideally, the thought flows into the Neutral Mind where we accept the situation and then follow with appropriate action.

The Neutral Mind is not about weighing pros and cons (that is what the Negative and Positive Minds are for). The Neutral Mind operates beyond the polarity of good and bad. When decisions are made from the Neutral Mind they move us toward righteous action. This capacity of the Neutral Mind is deeply rooted in the Fourth Chakra. When the Heart Chakra is balanced it creates the sense of safety and expansiveness that allows for movement away from duality and toward neutrality.


Healthy Heart = Calm Mind and Spirit = Strong Neutral Mind

If a person is in a state of deep trust with the Infinite, she moves beyond the ups and downs of life and accepts what is. The energy wasted by constantly questioning and doubting—Should I do this? Should I do that? Why didn’t this happen? Why did that happen instead?—is transformed into a state of acceptance and trust. This state of consciousness is not affected by the good or bad in life, but instead allows for and exists in a state of constant, neutral acceptance.

This neutral acceptance of what is allows for a closer alignment with the great Masters. Cultivating a connection to Guru Ram Das, Christ Consciousness, or Buddha Consciousness is an important part of many spiritual traditions. Their mental state is desired because it leads to a balanced heart, calm mind, and expansive spirit. The goal of many spiritual traditions is to take a person to a place of oneness, where there is no duality between heart and mind, and where they can experience neutrality. This is accomplished by a steady practice of prayer, yoga, or contemplation.

Yoga and Meditation cultivate a peaceful Heart Center, the foundation for the Neutral Mind, so that a person can exist as a soul that is firmly grounded and at peace.

Just as the circulatory system serves the whole body selflessly, a strong Neutral Mind serves the entirety of a person’s destiny. Cultivating the Neutral Mind is an act of service because by walking on your own destiny path, you also bring everyone around you a little closer to their truest, most authentic, and highest path.

“Having a daily spiritual practice is the surest way to support both the heart center and the Neutral Mind. It allows for the release of pent-up anger and negativity and releases toxins from the Physical Body. A consistent practice at any time of day is deeply valuable, but many traditions suggest an early morning practice, before or during sunrise.” 

©The Teachings of Yogi Bhajan

From Enlightened Bodies: Exploring Physical & Subtle Human Anatomy – Kundalini Yoga as Taught by Yogi Bhajan, “The Ten Light Bodies.” Eds. Nirmal Lumpkin, LMT & Japa Kaur Khalsa, DOM. Kundalini Research Institute. 2014. 

Visit our page with Sadhana Practice, Teachings and Support to access all of Sikh Dharma International’s resources on sadhana.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Post navigation