The 7 Steps to Happiness


The Siri Singh Sahib, Yogi Bhajan gave these 7 Steps for Happiness many times over the years of his teaching.

  1. Commitment
  2. Character
  3. Dignity
  4. Divinity
  5. Grace
  6. Power to Sacrifice
  7. Happiness

Click Here to Access our Full Library of Mental Health Resources


Here’s an excerpt from a lecture where the Siri Singh Sahib Ji spoke about the 7 steps of happiness:


May 22, 1989 – Healers/ Psychologists Day 1 in Rome, Italy

“Dharma is supposed to bring the dignity and Divinity inside the man.

There are seven steps to happiness. Happiness doesn’t come right away. Neither the sadness come right away.  There are always seven steps to it. First step is commitment.  That will give you character.  Without commitment, there is no character. Character will give you dignity or self-esteem. That will give you Divinity. Then you will have no duality.  That will give you grace that you can see all equal, better than you and worse than you, but kindly and compassionately. That gives you power to sacrifice for others and around you and for yourself. That will give you experience of happiness.

So, what Dharma has to do? Dharma only gives you commitment. Inside out. In this Dharma, commitment is inside out. There are twenty-two religions. It is one of them, but unfortunately, it’s a way of life. We call it religion but convenience. It’s a science of commitment inside out the same, doesn’t matter what. And the net, net reward of it is, it makes you excellent.” ~Yogi Bhajan

Watch this lecture by Yogi Bhajan on May 22, 1989 in Rome, Italy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. Ram Singh GUETABA says:

    Merci pour le partage et la traduction. C’est pas facile de comprendre Yogi Bhajan.
    Tout est maintenant clair.

Post navigation