Recitation Tools for the Slok of Japji Sahib

The Slok brings self-satisfaction, elevation, acknowledgment, and respect to those who practice it.



Pavann guroo paannee pitaa maataa dharat mahat. 

Divas raat du-i daa-ee daai-aa khaylai sagal jagat. 

Changi-aa-ee-aa buri-aa-ee-aa vaachai dharam hadoor. 

Karmee aapo aapannee kay nayrrai kay door. 

Jinee naam dhi-aa-i-aa ga-ay masakat ghaal. 

Naanak tay mukh ujalay kaytee chhuttee naal.  || 1 || 


English Translation

Air is the Guru, water is the Father, 

and earth is the Great Mother of all. 

Day and night are the two nurses, 

in whose lap all the world is at play. 

Good deeds and bad deeds; the record is read out 

in the presence of the Lord of Dharma. 

According to their own actions, some are drawn closer, 

and some are driven farther away. 

Those who have meditated on the Naam, the Name of the Lord, 

and departed after having worked by the sweat of their brows, 

O Nanak, their faces are radiant in the Court of the Lord, 

and many are saved along with them! 


Translation of the Slok in 20 Languages 

About the artist:

We are grateful to Jiwan Randhir Singh (aka Timothy Teruo Watters), the artist who created the beautiful artwork for each language translation.  He is an artist, author and graphic designer.  Whether writing adventurous tales, painting in watercolor or oils, Jiwan Randhir is always creating and blending the old with the new.  His first children’s book When Piglets Fly was published in 2019 and is available on  He is honored to be a part of this Japji Sahib offering.  His art can be viewed at



11X Video Recitations of the Slok of Japji Sahib

Meditate along with our 11X video recitation of the Slok of Japji Sahib here.

Videos of 11x repetitions of all 40 sections of Japji Sahib are also available here.


Note: It is recommended to recite shabads 11 times a day for a minimum of 40 days to realize their full effects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Post navigation