Japji Sahib – 11th Pauree

11th Pauree

The Eleventh Pauree gives virtue.

Sikh Art by Sewa Singh – SikhPhotos.com


Excerpted from the book Guru Nanak’s Call of the Soul: Japji Sahib:

In this fourth and last of the “deep listening” paurees Guru Nanak tells us that all things come to us when we deeply listen. By deeply listening, we bathe in the Ocean of Virtues. Virtues are higher expressions of our character, usually cultivated by each individual through commitment and self-discipline. But virtue can also be an expression of the high frequency of consciousness bestowed on us from the Divine. When we dive deep in this divine ocean, we are immersed in the energy of God. When we listen deeply, we command all the power and wisdom of religious scholars, teachers, and leaders. By listening deeply, even those who have lost their way, who are blind to all that is around them and don’t know which way to turn, find the right path through the intuition that they have developed. Ultimately, by deeply listening, the very depth of God and that which is unattainable by mortal man is reached. . .  Guru Nanak tells us in these four paurees that by deeply listening to the vibration and frequency of the One, our intuition is attuned to God and all things are gained.


Musical Recitation

Enjoy this version of the 11th Pauree from Meditative Mind

11th Pauree

Sunni-ai saraa gunnaa kay gaah.

Sunni-ai shaykh peer paatishaah.

Sunni-ai andhay paaveh raaho.

Sunni-ai haath hovai asgaaho

Naanak bhagataa saadaa vigaas.

Sunni-ai dookh paap kaa naas. || 11 ||


Deeply listening, one dives deep into the ocean of virtue.

Deeply listening are the religious scholars, spiritual teachers, and emperors.

Deeply listening, even the blind find the Path.

Deeply listening, the unreachable comes within your grasp.

O Nanak, the devotees are forever in bliss.

Deeply listening, pain and sin are erased.

Need to practice your pronunciation of Japji Sahib?

One of the best ways to learn how to recite Japji is to listen to and read along with someone else reciting it.

To help with that, we have a FREE Japji for the Aquarian Age App for IOS and Android.  Once you download it, you can use it to recite the complete Japji Sahib in your daily practice, or you can choose the “Repeat Paurees” feature and follow along with the recitation of each section of Japji Sahib.

A special 40 week practice of reciting Japji Sahib is to recite one section 11x a day for one week and then do the same for the next section and so on, until over 40 weeks, you’ve completed a practice of reciting each of the 40 sections of Japji Sahib 11x a day for a week.

Here are instructions for downloading the Japji for the Aquarian Age App

In Guru Nanak’s Call of the Soul: Japji Sahib, by Gurutej Singh Khalsa with Shanti Kaur Khalsa, Based on the teachings of Siri Singh Sahib Yogi Bhajan:

In Japji Sahib, Guru Nanak touches the deepest essence of individual consciousness, elevating one to the universal consciousness. Japji is made up of 40 remarkable segments where Guru Nanak not only explains the mysteries of the cosmos, but also gives us spiritual instruction that we can follow to achieve the same experience of higher consciousness that Guru Nanak embodied. In this book the Mul Mantra and each of the 38 paurees of Japji, plus the Slok, are explained from a spiritual as well as historical perspective, enhanced by the teachings of Siri Singh Sahib Yogi Bhajan. It is our sincere prayer that this book will open up to you the miraculous wonder of Japji Sahib.

194 pages including an in-depth exploration of the 40 sections of Japji Sahib, 48 full color illustrations, 15 meditations that enhance the effects of the pauris, pronunciation guide and glossary and a foreword by Bhai Sahiba, Bibiji Inderjit Kaur Khalsa, PhD. Includes beautiful full-color paintings by Sewa Singh and Sewa Kaur.

Visit our Marketplace if you are interested in purchasing this book.

Leer en Español

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Post navigation